Bids Requested for 2015 IL K-8 Tournament

  • The deadline for this bid expired 2/15/2014

2015 IL K-8: Suggested dates are 3/14-15/2015. Preference will be given to bidders with a downstate location. Suggested format is 4 sections (K-1, 2-3, 4-5, and 6-8), with 7 rounds for each section. [corrected for typo on sections. TGS 1/15/13] Time controls: Section K-1 G/30, section 2-3 G/45, sections 3-4 and 6-8 G/60. Early entry fee is usually $30 - $35. Bid deadline February 15. Bids should be sent to Jeff Wiewel, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with a copy to Carl Dolson, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Read more ...

2012 IL All Grade awarded to Illinois Chess Teachers

The ICA is pleased to announce that the 2012 Illinois All Grade Championships will be conducted by Illinois Chess Teachers.

Paul Raso and Blair Machaj are the principals of ICT. Chief Tournament director will be Wayne Clark. The tournament will be held on Saturday October 27, 2012 at Benjamin School; 28W250 St. Charles Rd, West Chicago, IL.

Read more ...

Maret Thorpe receives Outstanding Service Award

Maret Thorpe

Just before the Isaac Braswell Memorial Tournament to an assembled group (19 players and Maret), I read some words of appreciation from both Tom Sprandal and Jerry Neugarten. I then presented Maret with a plaque. Applause ensued.

I began by explaining that in addition to celebrating and recognizing Isaac Braswell's contributions to the chess community, the ICA wanted to recognize the dedication and hard work that Maret brought to our board.

I then read this quote from Tom Sprandal, President of the ICA:

Read more ...

2011 ICA Board Election Results

ICA election ballots were counted 12/13/2011 at Evanston Chess Club by Maret Thorpe, Michael Cardinale and Keith Ammann. The winners were Bill Brock (10 votes), Jerry Neugarten (9), Murrel Rhodes (9), Chris Merli (9), and Mark Nibbelin (8). Florin Felecan and Chuck Beach also received one vote each but were not elected. Congratulations to all, we look forward to your participation in promoting Illinois chess.

Read more ...

Notice about Illinois Class Championship Prizes

On Friday, December 16th, the Illinois Chess Association confirmed that prize checks from last weekend's Illinois Class Championships issued by Mikhail Korenman's IntECS, Inc., were being returned unpaid, marked "Account Closed." Mikhail Korenman is currently out of the country and will return on December 22nd.

The Illinois Chess Association is profoundly embarrassed that this happened in one of its championship events. On Friday, December 16, ICA board members voted unanimously to pay the prizewinners in full and to reimburse them for any returned item or other bank fees that they may have incurred.

TD Sevan Muradian has recreated the prizewinners' list for us, and ICA Treasurer Carl Dolson will have checks in the mail as soon as he has contact info for the prizewinners.

If you won a prize at the Illinois Class please forward your mailing address to ICA Treasurer Carl Dolson at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Again, please accept our sincere apologies!