Vamsi Munaganuri of Colene Hoose in Normal managed one of the few 7-for-7 tallies at SuperNationals VI, completed May 14 in Nashville, TN. Coming into the national event, Vamsi had a rating in the 300's but that didn't deter him from winning the K-1 Under 500's.

In that same section, Lucas Means and Alex Andrade, both with 5.0's nabbed trophies tying for 16th place, leading Avery Coonley to the third place team trophy. Amaira Mittal (4.5) and Jack Murphy contributed to the excellent ACS score.

A three-way tie atop the K-12 section for previously unrated players included three Illinois entrants.

In tiebreak order, Matthew Schiffner of Oak Park-River Forest along with James Bundy and Connor Murphy, both of Sandburg in Orland Park, all took home the top three trophies while Daniel Singh of Joliet STEM Academy nabbed fourth with his 5.5 score.

Illinois wasn't done collecting hardware in that section as several finished with 4.5's: Sandburg's Kayleigh Risser took home 6th, Edgar Viurquez of Argo (Summit) nabbed 8th place hardware, Jason Bath of Andrew (Tinley Park) garnered 10th place and Andres Lopez Argo (Summit) now has an 11th place trophy from a National competition.

It should come as no surprise that Sandburg claimed the team trophy for the section (19.5) while Argo claimed second place (16.5).

Andrew earned 4th place honors while Joliet's STEM Academy nabbed 7th place. Despite having only two entries, Richards of Oak Lawn earned 9th place team honors for the section.

Additional K-12 Under sections are reported upon below.

In K-3 Under 1000 competition, Decatur Classical (Chicago) brought home the 10th place team trophy with Josephine Swan, Lily Meegoda and Siri Chennareddy all contributing 3.0's to the team tally.

In that same section, Normal's Grove Elementary earned the 13th place trophy thanks to 4.5 from Alex Daniels and 3.0 from Rohit Darbhakul.

Grady Leddy of Downers Grove posted a 5.5/7 earning the top tiebreak of four players with that score, earning the eighth place trophy.

In K-3 Under 700, Kai Fan of Avery Coonley posted an impressive 5.5 tying for 18th place, earning the 25th place award on tiebreaks in a section where trophies through 35th place were awarded.

In the K-5 Under 900's, Colene Hoose won the top team trophy. Four teams -- out of more than 30 in the entered in the section -- scored 21.0 -- but it was the Normal school with the top tiebreak. Seth Parent and John Burras contributed 6.0's while Pragyan Misra added 5.0 and Harshavardhan Bhangale scored 4.0.

Individually, Seth and John tied for 6th place winning 12th and 13th place hardware on tiebreaks.

With his 5.0 score, Pragyan earned a "tied for 45th place" trophy as did Ashwin Balaraman of Naperville

In the K-5 Under 1200's, Avery Coonley School brought home the 13th place trophy with the best tiebreak of three schools with 13.5.

If ACS had earned just one more point (14.5) they might have tied for eighth place!  Although players with ratings up to 1199 were eligible, ACS was able to accomplish this with five players all rated below 1000: Yash Desai posted a 4.5 with contributions from Abhiram Batchu, Neola Edwin, and brothers Declan and Trevor Reenan. Neola boosted her rating 200 points with her performance; Yash jumped 173 and Trevor went up 158.

Individually in that section, Illinois had two players tie for 16th place on 5.0 scores: Ria Raj of Naperville and Shlok Kinikar of Normal both earned "tied for 20th" trophies because of tiebreaks.

In K-6 Unrated competition, Gunn Kim lead Keller Gifted (Chicago) to the 5th place team trophy, tying for second place himself with 6.0, receiving the third place trophy on tiebreaks. Brother Joon scored 5.0, tying for 8th place, earning the 9th place award. Zach Myers also contributed to the team total.

In K-6 U1000, Christopher Harrison of Keller posted 5.5, tying for 11th place, earning 18th place hardware.

K-6 U1400 competition saw two downstaters win individual trophies, tying for 13th place with 5.0 scores. Sadkrith Malladi of Bloomington's Benjamin School earned the 14th place trophy on tiebreaks while Rahul Bammidi of Glenn (Normal) nabbed one of the "tied for 15th place" trophies.

In the K-8 U750 section, Tamya Fultz lead Earle STEM (Chicago) to the 21st place team trophy. Tamya's 5.5 tied for 18th and her tiebreak entitled her to the 20th place trophy. Also contributing to the Earle STEM team score were Xavier Rosado, Brandon Burgess and Gavin Harry.

In the K-8 U1000 division, Rohit Kartha of Naperville posted 5.0, tying for 17th place, earning a "tied for 20th place" trophy.

K-12 Under Sections

Illinois managed three team trophies in the K-12 U800 section with Hinsdale Central nabbing 4th place. Sandburg (Orland Park) took 15th, Normal Community West earned 20th.

Thea Barba paced Sandburg with 6.0, tying for fourth place and posting the highest tiebreak in that score group.

Hinsdale Central was lead by Jon Teoli's 6.0 which tied him with Thea, earning 5th on tiebreaks.  

Sam Harris of Highland Park posted a 5.5, tying for 10th, earning the 14th place trophy.

Four Illinois players in the section tied for 18th place with 5.0's: Henry Lovellette of Normal Community West (19th), Rhanel Gonzalgo of Sandburg (23rd) along with Sri Jaliparthi of Hinsdale Central and Giovanni Cortes of Jones College Prep (Chicago) who both earned "tied for 25th" trophies.

Illinois won three of the top eight team awards in K-12 U1200 (out of 25 teams): Highland Park (4th with 18.5), Argo (6th with 18) and Hinsdale Central (8th with 17.5).

Two individuals tied for fourth place with 6.0/7's, Argo's Roberto Albor, Jr. and Hinsdale Central's Omar Majzoub.

HP's Stefano Velazquez posted 5.5 while Argo's Grzegorz Walkosz scored 5.0, both earning individual trophies as well.

Illinois won four of the 30 team awards in K-12 U1600:  Andrew High School (Tinley Park) nabbed 12th, Highland Park 20th, Peoria-area Heyworth 22nd, and Whitney Young (Chicago) 25th.

Andrew's Amadeo Findlay and Highland Park's Joseph Harrigan both posted 5.0's to garner indvidual trophies as well.

Parkside's Jacob Davis (Normal) posted 5.5 which was the top tiebreak in that score group, earning the 12th place award.

In the K-12 U1900, Illinois won three team awards out of the 15 presented: Stevenson (Lincolnshire) earned third place, IMSA (Aurora) nabbed 6th place and Neuqua Valley (Naperville) garnered 12th.

Adam Wallach paced Stevenson with his 5.0, tying him for 10th place, 14th on tiebreaks. Fredrich Yuan of Daniel Wright Junior High (Lincolnshire) posted the same score, receiving one of the "tied for 20th" trophies.

Along with Adam, Stevenson's team included Marcus Engstrom, Jack Xiao and Shashank Bala.

IMSA's team included Shayna Provine (4.5), along with Cassie Parent, Jonathan Liu and Patrick Li.

Vikram Dara paced Neuqua Valley with 4.0, with additional contributions from Joseph Wang, Rohan Narasimha and Anshu Indusekar.